You have a perfectly good turn signal – now use it!

When we’re driving, I’m sure most of us share the same objective – to get from point A to point B in the most efficient way possible. So why oh why can’t you use your turn signals? Especially coming up to a busy intersection – You: in the left lane of a street with no specified left turn lane, planning to turn left. Me: Right behind you, now stuck until you are able to turn across multiple lanes of traffic, because you didn’t use your turn signal and it’s too late for me to go around you now.

Or how about when I’m riding my bike? Me: On my bike about to cross an intersection. You: Making a right turn in front of me without any warning. Arrgh!

Please be a good citizen and let me know if you’re going to turn. And here’s a bonus tip – it doesn’t help much if you signal at the EXACT moment you turn. The point of a turn signal is to let people know your intentions AHEAD OF TIME. I’m not a fast or impatient driver (or biker) – I just like to be able to predict where you’re headed so I can decide where I need to be.

Leave a Reply

